by claracheong

I don’t usually blog about my day to day life, only things that are worth documenting and things I think my 40yr old self would genuinely want to remember ! This post is one of them.

So this Sunday is special because 1. I didn’t get to hit the rink 2. It was a regular family day

(These are things I usually miss out on Sundays. The one special day-off from skating has allowed me to observe how food magically turn up in the refridgerator at home and more lol )

1. Woke up bright and early @ 830am wanting to hit kallang by 10am but my sister wasn’t up for it and dad sounded reluctant to send one child over and ugh okay stay home sunday sounded good so I went back to bed till 11am

2. There was no yelling or shouting or criticizing or anything that normally goes on, I spent a total of 4hrs with my dad (which is the most I’ve ever spent this year :/ ) and it was regular regular. Like peaceful mutually respecting normal regular family regular. (!!!) amazing or what.

Okay so this Sunday begins with a big hearty brunch of hawker food and soya bean milk 🙂 Then we went fruit shopping for the week and it was pleasant because I got to make alllll the calls. My mum basically let me pick out whatever I wanted and the uncle was just feeding me samples.

Afterwhich we headed to drop mother off at Orchard because she needs to get her hair done.

Then to grocery shopping. Father made the familiar drive back to King’s albert park (the best Mcdonalds branch outlet everrr) It was a very nostalgic trip for me because I used to go grocery shopping with my parents there every weekend when I was younger. I also especially love how cold storage smells. I think it was the smell upon entering that is most triggering more than the place itself.But here’s the bad news to anyone who has a history with kap>>> Click here (don’t worry it’ll open in a new tab! )
Also, the ice-creams were on a sale so we bought 3 tubs of Andersons for only $19.90 :O !!! *insert giant shameless grin* 😀

Then I got home, unloaded the groceries and sunk into a wonderful afternoon nap ! Jane’s boyfriend came over for dinner in the evening. Expectedly when father cooks, we feast. This time it was a plate of Soba, lamb steak, scallops with asparagus ( omg my asparagus craving finally resolved) , portebello mushroom with seasalt and butter, Salad with peach and olive oil lemon dressing and Ice-cream for dessert ! Needless to say I helped myself to a big cup ! Of course I couldn’t chomp on everything like everyone else because of the new adjustments my orthodontist made but I ate through the pain nonetheless !

I know of many whose Sundays are just like this and maybe more. But I don’t spend even a minute with my parents or have peaceful days with them ever, so this Sunday is one worth documenting. I might just be a little overly sentimental but good times with my family are sooooo hard to come by. Or at least I consider this a good time. Being regular for a day feels great.

Also, the lack of promised post over the 4 day weekend is just a show of how much fun I’ve had in real life :/ hahaha.Now i just gotta rush my assignments and pack my bag before heading for bed. Have a great week everyone ! Image